Skip to main content


The North American Wind Energy Academy (NAWEA) charter and bylaws were adopted by majority vote during the August 8, 2013 business meeting after a participant body reviewed the charter and bylaws in December 2012. The bylaws were drafted on a pro bono basis by legal counsel Hogan Lovells.

Charter Committee Members

MemberHome Institution
Doug Cairns, Charter Committee ChairMontana State University
Patrick ButlerUniversity of Iowa
Ed DeMeoRenewable Energy Consulting Services, Inc.
Michael KnotekRenewable and Sustainable Energy Institute
James ManwellUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
Pat MoriartyNational Renewable Energy Laboratory
Will ShawPacific Northwest National Laboratory
Diane StultsRenewable and Sustainable Energy Institute
Andy SwiftTexas Tech University
Bob Thresher, NAWEA DirectorNational Renewable Energy Laboratory
Case van DamUniversity of California Davis
Paul VeersNational Renewable Energy Laboratory

Stay in Touch

Sign up to receive regular NAWEA and NAWEA/WindTech Conference updates.

NAWEA will use your information to send timely news or event information to your inbox for as long as you are subscribed. Change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us. We will treat your information with respect. Learn more about our security and privacy policies.