Skip to main content


The North American Wind Energy Academy (NAWEA) charter and bylaws were adopted by majority vote during the August 8, 2013 business meeting after a participant body reviewed the charter and bylaws in December 2012. The bylaws were drafted on a pro bono basis by legal counsel Hogan Lovells.

Charter Committee Members

Member Home Institution
Doug Cairns, Charter Committee Chair Montana State University
Patrick Butler University of Iowa
Ed DeMeo Renewable Energy Consulting Services, Inc.
Michael Knotek Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute
James Manwell University of Massachusetts Amherst
Pat Moriarty National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Will Shaw Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Diane Stults Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute
Andy Swift Texas Tech University
Bob Thresher, NAWEA Director National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Case van Dam University of California Davis
Paul Veers National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Stay in Touch

Sign up to receive regular NAWEA and NAWEA/WindTech Conference updates.

* indicates required

NAWEA will use your information to send timely news or event information to your inbox for as long as you are subscribed. Change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us. We will treat your information with respect. Learn more about our security and privacy policies.